TTLC2019: 2 Exciting Keynotes, 2 Intensive Masterclasses, 1 Forum, 1 Round Table Discussion & Parallel Sessions.

Sep 12, 2019
Sep 14, 2019
Add to Calendar 20190912T0001 20190914T2359 Taylor's 12th Teaching and Learning Conference 2019


Transforming Curriculum: Strengthening Teacher-Learner Partnership


From our previous conferences, we are aware that empowering learners for life requires a fundamental shift in designing curriculum for Higher Education. New priorities, pedagogies, technologies, spaces and assessment strategies are required to empower learners to take ownership of their learning. Creating resilient, adaptable and future-capable learners is no longer an option for Higher Education institutions as we embrace the Education 4.0 Trends. Hence, as an innovative Higher Education institution, Taylor's has been pioneering holistic education and the integration of Life skills into the curriculum. 

However, these 'student-centeredness' concepts still seem to be prescriptive in nature as most decisions on curriculum, assessment, teaching and learning approaches are still teacher-centric (see Bovill, Cook-Sather, & Felten, 2011, p. 133). Teachers are designing student-centred learning environments without embracing their learners to be a part of the decision-making (see Ntem, 2017). In addition some lecturers who believe they are student-centred in their approach are not embracing the 'voice' of the students within their class. Some lecturers in higher education prefer traditional approaches of content delivery, conventional assessment methods, and familiar teaching and learning approaches rather than experimenting with new best practices. To address this disconnect we propose that there should be a proactive student-teacher partnership in designing assessment and the teaching and learning activities (See Bovill, Cook-Sather, Felten, Millard & Moore-Cherry, 2016). We believe that a paradigm shift in education is not only for teachers, but it is vital for students in embracing their empowered role.

TTLC 2019 is paving the way to understand student-teacher partnerships by examining best practices through dialogue, as well as innovative teaching and learning designs where students have been taking an active role.  The sub-themes below can be utilized as lenses to further envision the student-teacher partnerships in the higher education setting.

The TTLC 2019's innovative agenda is designed to "unlock" the typical conference format, and our aim is to create a space that prioritises engagement with keynotes, panelists and delegates. You can look forward to a relevant, pro-active and rewarding learning experience where peer-to-peer learning and collaboration are prevalent with experts from more than 12 countries and 30 institutions.

Our programme features sessions such as : 

  1. Masterclass 
  2. Edu-Future Forum
  3. Roundtable discussions with industry, graduates, students and academia
  4. Lightning Talks
  5. 1- Day Student track 
  6. Keynotes
  7. Parallel Sessions

TTLC2019 Conference Grant available. For more information click here

Come join us at Taylor's 12th Teaching and Learning Conference today!
Taylor's University Lakeside Campus, No. 1 Jalan Taylor's 47500 Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan Malaysia. Taylor's 12th Teaching and Learning Conference 2019


Executive AdvisorProf Michael Driscoll
 Vice Chancellor & President, Taylor's University
AdvisorProf Dr Pradeep Nair 
 Deputy Vice Chancellor & Chief Academic Officer, Taylor's University
Chairperson Prof Dr Michael James Keppell
 Pro Vice-Chancellor,  Learning & Teaching, Center for Future Learning,(CFL), Taylor's University
Deputy Chairperson Mr Lim Chee Leong
Director, e-Learning Academy, Taylor's University
Conference Secretariat 

Ms Stephanie Karen Shasheela Nithyanandan 

Ms Logesvari Marimuthu 

Dr Sree Kala  (Food & Beverages)

Dr Narendra Babu Shivanagere Nagojappa (Registration)

Ms Tasha Thamalagha

Ms Sammy Phuah Soo Sum

Forum Secretariat

Ms Logesvari Marimuthu

Dr Nallamai Singgaram

Ms Stephanie Karen Shasheela Nithyanandan

Promotion, Media and Communication

Mr Pavithiran Thangaperumal

Ms Nur Hannah Manshor

Mr Radzy Omar (Digital Marketing)

Ms Pratiusha Radhakrishnan Menon

Ms Haniffa Beevi

Ms Wan Liyana Naznim

Assoc. Prof Sherry Blakenship

Ms. Balqis Zulkifli

Ms Sujatha Krishnan

Ms. Enna Ayub

Paper & Publication Committee 

Ms Nurhanim Hassan

Ms Bhuvanes Veerakumaran

Dr Jasmine Jain

Dr Joaquim Dias Soeiro

Dr Lee Kim Lian

Mr Reynato Andal Gamboa

Dr Sujatavani Gunasagaran

Dr Tamil Salvi Mari

Ms Yun Mei Ling

Ms Jacqueline Thomas

Dr Kandappan Balasubramaniam

Ms Sia Chin Chin

Dr Sharina Hamzah

Dr Ali Shafiq


Mr Ahmad Faiz Mohamad Shokri

Mr Donny Yeo

Protocol & Student Helpers

Dr Toh Gaik Teng

Dr Lee Sau Har

Ms Logesvari Marimuthu

Dr. Ratneswary Rasiah

Ms. Kelly Tee Pei Leng

Student Track

Mr Janaronson Nagarajah

Ms Subashini Thuraisingam 

Ms Navitra Selvakumar

Mr Tiagarajan Annamalay

Ms Divya Mariam Chandy

Dr Chan Sook Wah

Dr Yan See Wan

Dr Teoh Ming Li

Ms Foo Siew Shya

Dr Tang Yin Quan


3013 hits